Storytime: YNOT Cycle

Let me whisk you back to a year ago when I was frantically scrambling trying to put the pieces of my first bike event, Hell Track 1, together.  I had a nugget of an idea, largely “imported” (stolen) from my experiences in Seattle participating in Future Tense, for a bike thing in Toronto that would be a melting pot for all the disparate groups of bike nerds.  I took to guerilla advertising and I put spokecard fliers in any set of wheels that looked vaguely like the right kind of bike/person.  Anyways, one of these bikes happened to be owned by Tony Mammoliti and the flier in his wheel got him to come and check out Hell Track 1.  I was flying around signing people up for events and running everything so we didn’t actually formally meet that night.

Skip forward a few weeks to the Toronto premiere of The Revival, I was socializing and all that when I saw a Swobo with a crazy set of DIY straps.  I had to get to the bottom of what I was seeing and that’s how I finally, formally, met Tony.  He had been experimenting with various strap designs and shortly gave me a pair to test out as my Hold Fasts were on their last legs.  They were as good or better even back then so I was stoked.

Things have progressed quickly since then.  I was a ‘test rider’ for his straps until he made a messenger bag with his mom’s help one day.  When I saw it I was gobsmacked and excited because it really meant that anything was possible suddenly.  I immediately proposed to him that I not just test for him but that I’d like to go into business with him if he was interested.  He agreed and the growth has been continuous since.

I will leave this as a ‘Part 1’ of the story, but I think it’s a good start, right?

About Tom Mosher

Mechanical engineer, avid trick nerd, currently enamoured with bikes and designing products and then making them. Sponsored by Volume Bike Co., Velocity USA, YNOT Cycle, Resist Parts, Bikes On Wheels
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Storytime: YNOT Cycle

  1. Pingback: Helltrack 3 | YNOT CYCLE

  2. Pingback: Helltrack 3 | YnotCycle

Leave a Reply

