Volume Vandal

I hinted at it before but the proverbial cat is out of the bag, Volume has made a prototype 26″ specific frame and since I got really lucky a few years ago I get to test it out!

Apparently I have one of these in the mail…

It’s really a huge leap.. forward?  Well, it’s a huge leap in one specific direction, we don’t yet know what ‘forward’ really is yet.  What I think is most valuable about this frame is that it may indeed be ‘too far’,  perhaps finally we have jumped the shark and wound up with something both awkward for tricks and shitty to ride.  Who knows!  It’s in the mail!

We can’t truely know what is best without first exploring the extremes, otherwise we are left with questions and uncertainties.  So I welcome this frame, for it’s high bottom bracket and beefy 14mm axles and I approach the low top tube with uncertainty, I have literally no idea what is going to happen!  Brian already told me he has several changes in mind and the top tube will probably come up a few inches, but what a brave step into the unknown!

About Tom Mosher

Mechanical engineer, avid trick nerd, currently enamoured with bikes and designing products and then making them. Sponsored by Volume Bike Co., Velocity USA, YNOT Cycle, Resist Parts, Bikes On Wheels
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Volume Vandal

  1. I honestly think this bike could take off in the trick specific genre.I also think it is a step that HAS to be taken to see all the “what if” questions that arise.I think the biggest thing to think about here is that there is a whole generation of kids coming up that will want to trick,and could care less about the commuting aspect of a bike.Maybe it will also spark just a sub-category of fgfs…I guess to a certain extent I am just a very open minded person willing to explore and let others explore w/o hating on them.With all that said,I know the sport/bikes/people/styles are all going to evolve.I guess I just don’t want to see it evolve into something like this http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=YLhaQKoHCMw The frame geo is VERY similar and i can see people wanting to have a hub like that and putting giro’s on to still be able to barspin.I guess i have mixed emotions,but am confident i will enjoy seeing the progressions.I also can’t wait to see what YOU think about it,knowing you have some BMX backround .Only time will tell…Looking forward to the bike check 🙂

  2. Phil666 says:

    i got dibs on your medium thrasher when you get the vandal 😉

Leave a Reply

