New Rims!

I had a set of the Resist hubs sitting around since the Vandal showed up but I didn’t have any rims to lace them to so Jeff at Velocity hooked it up, he’s the man!

Yesterday when I was working away in the YNOT shop I was startled when a large man walked in with a box for me to sign for.  In the box was a set of anti-freeze green 26″ P35’s for me to try out and lace to my Resist hubs.  I have a set of Psychos right now and they are just way too heavy, but they have remained dead straight, for what it’s worth!

Whoa, just looked it up on the Velocity site, the Psychos weigh 804g and the P35’s weigh 535g!  And for the curious (nerdy), a 26″ Chukker weighs 600g and ye olde 700c Deep V weighs 520g.

Can’t wait for the new wheelset, no more bent axles, should be lighter overall, and I’m acquiring some DMR Supermoto 2.2″ gumwalls, stoked!!

Oh and there’s no pictures because I only carried my camera to work and back, I didn’t actually remember to take any pictures of these things and then I dropped the rims off at Red Arrow bikes to have them built up right after work.  I should have them finished today and I’ll take lots of pictures and those pictures might not suck for once!

About Tom Mosher

Mechanical engineer, avid trick nerd, currently enamoured with bikes and designing products and then making them. Sponsored by Volume Bike Co., Velocity USA, YNOT Cycle, Resist Parts, Bikes On Wheels
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to New Rims!

  1. Daood says:

    I always liked the Blunt. 28mm is wide enough, and at 408g it’s light. My big beef with Velocity is the pinned rims. The reason I like the mtx33 is the welded seam. several companies to this, but the MTX is the cheapest.

    • Tom Mosher says:

      I am grateful that Velocity is willing to give me free wheels so I take whatever they have extra of. Fortunately, everything they’ve given me has held up and been really dependable.

Leave a Reply

