Flashback: Timewarp Setups Pt. 1

Been meaning to make a post like this for a while, it’ll be photo heavy but also should be revealing/interesting.  I found a cache of my old bike photos and they are pretty priceless in their documentation of the sports progress.

Without further delay, here is one of my first fixed gear conversions, I think this was the third one and around when I started getting a little more serious about tricks.  And remember, FGFS wasn’t a “thing” for a year or two more.

May 14 2007:

Miyata conversion, 27″ wheels, this is fully before I got legit ‘track’ stuff, which is of course way before we moved away from track stuff too.

August 10 2007:

My next conversion was a garage sale find, basically new old stock that a lady had just kept and not used, a Raleigh Super Grand Prix.  I got the pink Deep V’s off craigslist and they were technically a birthday present from my parents, thanks guys!  These wheels lasted incredibly long, espcially given that the front was radial and the rear was radial on one side.

April 11 2008:

So this was my first “track” frame, a local shop called Cyclemania has these made in Lithuania or something.  This was the frame I filmed my first Bootleg Sessions stuff on and it took a lot of abuse!

Before anyone would utter the word pegs I grinded the shit out of my frame!  I guess it was just the grind I saw LaMarche doing and it made the most sense.  All my pre-peg frames have this groove ground in them.

April 25 2008:

I finally got my Brooklyn Machine Works Gangsta Track fork!!  I waited forever and put Bootleg Sessions behind schedule but I got it and loved it, what a piece of work, I wish I never sold it when I was hard up for cash years ago!  This is what my bike looked like when I went to the BFF in NYC three years ago, whoa!

Sept. 14 2008:

I’ll leave it at this crazy setup for now.  Check out the double hose-clamp straps on metal bmx pedals!  This was when it was all starting to get a bit confused!

More later, gotta go to YNOT and make shit!

About Tom Mosher

Mechanical engineer, avid trick nerd, currently enamoured with bikes and designing products and then making them. Sponsored by Volume Bike Co., Velocity USA, YNOT Cycle, Resist Parts, Bikes On Wheels
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

