Local Cyclist Killed..

At a spot I literally pass over twice a day in my commute to YNOT a local cyclist was crushed by a 5-tonne truck and killed.  It’s hard to believe but at the same time very easy to imagine.  It hit me pretty hard the day after as I passed the growing memorial at the entrance to the railpath (bike highway that follows the train tracks where I threw the last Hell Track) where the incident happened.  Sometimes the risks involved in simply existing as a cyclist make it all seem absurd, but not enough to make me live any other way.  I guess we just all have to resolve to be as careful as possible.  This woman, Jenna Morrison, was a mother of a 5 year old and 4 months pregnant, it’s truely tragic.

Things like this really make this all very real.  We’re all fleshy, vulnerable chunks of potential, potential to do good or bad and to make descisions of all kinds.  I’m relieved to know she was at least wearing her helmet.  I’ve taken to scolding parents that are riding along and not wearing helmets, I yell out “Where’s your helmet, DAD/MOM??” and it seems to hit them pretty hard.  I feel like I could go on and on on a topic like this but I don’t want this post to be about my opinions, rather, we should remember a bright life that’s been lost.

Stay safe out there!

After making this post I just stumbled on a video from the CBC, by total fluke I am actually in the background commuting to work on my Vandal at 1:25 here as they talk about the tragedy.

 

About Tom Mosher

Mechanical engineer, avid trick nerd, currently enamoured with bikes and designing products and then making them. Sponsored by Volume Bike Co., Velocity USA, YNOT Cycle, Resist Parts, Bikes On Wheels
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

